quietapi.blogg.se

Mac symbols for shift control command option
Mac symbols for shift control command option






mac symbols for shift control command option
  1. Mac symbols for shift control command option install#
  2. Mac symbols for shift control command option full#
  3. Mac symbols for shift control command option mac#

I'm debating if it is time to try a new hard drive, but I don't know if that is the only issue going on, or if I would just invest in that only to be still stuck here.This is a list of keyboard shortcuts for working in Tableau. not sure if that gives anymore indication of anything? But it seems the Open Firmware worked temporarily which helped me try a few things. Had to manually power down, and try to restart and grey screen again. Finally, deja vu, I could not Force Quit anything. As soon as I launched an application, i was able to use it for about 5 minutes, and then more and more beachballs. It took a real long time, hung up at a few stages of the startup process, but started. I ran it twice, once said it repaired part of it, the second took care of the rest.

Mac symbols for shift control command option install#

I was then able to boot from the install disk, run disk utility, and repair hard drive. But worked, so I was able to backup a few last minute things I needed.

Mac symbols for shift control command option full#

It was shaky, full of hangups, made a lot of extra noise, etc.

Mac symbols for shift control command option mac#

Well Kurt, the Open Firmware attempt was the only thing that got my Mac to startup. You could fry something trying to remove or connect the drive with the Mac still on. EIDE is not a hot connector like FireWire or USB. Also make sure the Mac you're connecting it to is off first. If you do want to try the hard drive in another Mac, make sure to turn the Mac off before disconnecting the drive. I'm assuming a G4 Powerbook is going to be EIDE, not SATA. Or connect it to an open EIDE cable and power connectors in another Mac.

mac symbols for shift control command option

You could remove the drive and place it into an external drive case to see if it's working. Or something on the circuit board, such as a resistor, may have blown. The drive could be going around, but the actuator arms that move the read/write heads may have failed. Spinning doesn't mean it's working though. Put a metal rod on the casing and put the other end next to your ear. The ol' automotive shop trick works, too. Sometimes you can feel the drive running when you grab the casing (don't touch the circuit board on the bottom). Thanks for any more info, sorry for the long post, but thank you for reading.Ĭan I ask, how do you determine if a hard drive is "dead" and needs to be replaced? I'm curious what the button combination assisted with so I can be aware, or know if there is something I need to do now that it finally started back up and "appears" normal.

mac symbols for shift control command option

There was no hard disk that could be located at all to select or try to repair? I'm fearing for the life of this laptop, and it isn't that old. and would only allow me to try and install. Powered down, and when I powered up, I got a grey screen, no apple icon, no spinning line, no folder/question mark, nothing. The issue started last night I plugged in my shuffle to let it sync and charge, came back to my computer this morning and iTunes hung up (beachball), then iPod showed 2 icons in iTunes (one mine, one generic), then after a couple minutes of mroe beachball said iPod may be corrupt and I could not Force Quit anything. Can anyone share with me what that does to help it start up? And possibly, more importantly, what problem is that showing or foreshadowing if I needed to use it? I found the startup button combination mentioned in the troubleshooting guide, Command + Option + P + R and lo and behold it worked. I was having my first ever startup issue with an Apple computer after 10 years of flawless performance.








Mac symbols for shift control command option